Acte Préalable how to buy | contact us
Acte Préalable The perfect introduction to polish classical music
New Releases
Coming soon
Artists Index
Out of Print
How to buy
Contact us

Feliks Nowowiejski (1877-1946)
Piano Works - I
AP0085 , DDD - TT: 58'22"
Copyright (R)2002, (C)2006
World Premiere Recording

  1. Fairy-tale
  2. The Polish Dance no. 1
  3. The Polish Dance no. 2
  4. The Polish
  5. Dance no. 3 - Alla Polacca
  6. March Under the Banner of the Peace
  7. Prelude no. 1 - original version
  8. Prelude no. 1 - second version
  9. Prelude no. 2
  10. Ballade no. 1 op. 20 no. 1 in C sharp minor
  11. Ballade no. 3 op. 20 no. 2 in A flat major
  12. Ballade no. 4 op. 20 no. 2 in C sharp minor
  13. Mazurka no. 1 in F sharp minor
  14. Mazurka no. 2 in A minor;
  15. Gen Dowbór-Muśnicki Military March

Adamek Magdalena, piano

booklet: Magdalena Adamek (Polish, English, French)

Known in the west mostly for his organ symphonies, Nowowiejski also composed a substantial body of solo piano music, much of which is based on Polish folk elements as are seven of the pieces on this first volume. The preludes and ballades are somewhat sterner stuff (although the dance-pieces glare as much as they smile), offering a glance into the soul of a Rachmaninovian late romantic. Records International